Everybody has a Story – Day 2

Welcome to day two of our ten day feature – Everybody has a Story.

Our second entry comes from German born Jules. Here’s her story…

14858741_10211077778849529_1337541394_o

  1. Firstly, how old are you and what do you do for a living?

I’m actually 22 next week, but currently 21 and I’m a soldier.

  1. Please can you give us a brief background about your life? 

I was born and bought up in Germany, just near Nuremberg. My upbringing was great! I was raised without computers or iPhones or anything really like that. Just a normal kid playing with their friends on the street and outside.

  1. When and how did you come out?

I’m just going to start by saying I think everyone has at least some degree of difficulty coming out. I remember I was 15, but I’ve always had a great family and group of friends, so they were all completely Ok with it.

Good question (*laughs) I don’t actually know. I just told me friends ‘hey…I think I love girls!’ So they started laughing and said ‘we already know’. Most people actually said I was the last one to realise I was gay!

  1. Have you ever experienced any discrimination due to your sexuality?

Only for the way I look. I get a lot of people asking if I’m a boy or a girl. Or possibly the usual, you just need a real man or you haven’t met the right man yet. But I think that’s about it.

  1. If you could give your younger self, or anyone else currently struggling with their sexuality what (if any) advice could you give them?

To be honest, I don’t really think there’s any advice that can apply to everyone. Just be yourself and live your life. It’s your life, you should be happy, its your job to make that happen, nobody elses.

We’d like to take this opportunity to thank Jules for her help with this project and for her frank honesty.

If you’d like to keep up to date with Jules, follow her on Instagram @jules_drum

Leave a Reply

