Everybody has a Story – Day 3

Welcome to day three of our ten day feature – Everybody has a Story.

Our third entry comes from Washington D.C born Arnold. Here’s his story…

14858740_10211077778529521_1289154754_o

  1. Firstly, how old are you, what do you do for a living and where are you from?

I’m actually 25 today and I work in retail in Old Navy.

  1. Please can you give us a brief background about your life? 

I was born in Washington D.C (USA) but my parents are from Honduras. I was born in 1991, raised in Staten Island NY, went to an evangelical church until I was 13 I think. I knew I was gay/bi since I was at least 5 years old. My dad didn’t like gay things at all. He smacked me once because I put a sheep stickers on my toenails.

I knew it wasn’t a thing to be open about so from then on I hid it ands seeing the other kids get bullied for being gay was terrifying. So I learned to hide it!

      3. When and how did you come out?

At age 23 i came out in an interesting way. It was early morning, me and my mom were talking about life and such. I was heading to a job interview and had zero money. I washed some dirty boxers in my bathroom sink and was now ironing them dry in my kitchen. Somehow the conversation went to my life and what I’m doing, then my mom said “I don’t know anything about your life, tell me, I want to know.”

So i was ironing my boxers, lump in my throat, and decided to come out there and then. Not only for my mom, but season 7 of Rupaul’s drag race was about to air that night and I decided to come out for that reason as well. It was scary, but my mom said she loves me and supports me. I remember, she jokingly said she wanted me to marry Ricky Martin.

And then i went to a job interview with damp ass boxers!

     4. If you could give your younger self, or anyone else currently struggling with their sexuality what (if any) advice could you give them?

Find someone you can trust and talk about it. Go to therapy if you think you need it. I spent so many years depressed and suicidal because i thought i was alone. No one is ever alone. Life is hard but you have to love yourself, because you are the most important thing in your life.

As soon as you accept yourself everything becomes easier.

Also loving yourself is probably one of the hardest things to do. Its a daily struggle but its worth it!

We’d like to take this opportunity to thank Arnold for his help with this project and for his frank honesty.

If you’d like to keep up to date with Arnold, follow him on Instagram @mike_plutonic

 

Leave a Reply

