Everybody has a Story – Day 8

Welcome to day eight of our ten day feature – Everybody has a Story.

Our eighth entry come from Brazil born Miguel Albino. Here’s his story…

image1.JPG

 

  1. Firstly, how old are you and what do you do for a living?

I’m 28 and I work in Manchester (UK) as a Portuguese and English translator and teacher.

  1. Please can you give us a brief background about your life?

I was born in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and that’s where I was brought up until I moved to the UK when I was 22. Growing up, homosexuality was something I was deeply ashamed of and wouldn’t dream of discussing with anybody. Because my family were so religious it just wasn’t acceptable, up until a particular age I was terrified of them finding out.

  1. When did you realise you were gay?

I’ve always known it, since the age of 6 probably. I didn’t know exactly what it was or even why, but I’ve liked boys since forever.

  1. When and how did you come out?

I came out at the age of 18 when I went to university and it was very casual. I told my mum and she was just like ‘yeah whatever, as long as I get to become a grandmother at some point, I don’t mind’. And that was a huge relief.

  1. Have you ever experienced any discrimination due to your sexuality?

Nothing other than children picking on me when I was little because of my mannerisms. I was always in a very privileged upper class bubble in Rio, where people didn’t really care about sexuality or things like that as long as you came from a “good” family. This was only in Brazil though, when I got to the UK i wasn’t in the ‘upper class’ at all.

  1. If you could give your younger self, or anyone else currently struggling with their sexuality what (if any) advice could you give them?

Trust your loved ones, don’t just assume they’ll hate you for being you!

We’d like to take this opportunity to thank Miguel for his help with this project and for his frank honesty.

If you’d like to keep up to date with Miguel, follow him on Instagram @aboutmiguel

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

