Everybody has a Story – Day 9

Welcome to day nine of our ten day feature – Everyone has a Story.

Our ninth entry come from Berlin based Florian. Here’s his story…

 15215817_10211381174474230_1494088456_o

  1. Firstly, how old are you and what do you do for a living?

I’m 35 years old and I’m a nurse, leading a psychiatric ward.

  1. Please can you give us a brief background about your life?

I was born in a little village in the south of Germany, on the border to France and Luxembourg.

I actually didn’t have a view really when growing up, just because no one in my circle of family or friends were gay, so it was just never bought up.

  1. When did you realize you were gay?

When I was 12 or 13 I realized I liked men but for a while I thought, maybe I’m bisexual.

  1. When and how did you come out?

I came out when I was 25, I had a few girlfriends before then, but I wasn’t practically happy. I always thought, if I fell in love with a guy, I would come out. And I did.

  1. Have you ever experienced any discrimination due to your sexuality?

Never at work or with friends and family. But I have with just random people on the street, I’ve been holding a guy’s hand and been called a faggot before.

  1. If you could give your younger self, or anyone else currently struggling with their sexuality what (if any) advice could you give them?

Be whatever and whoever you are, the people that are around you love you, and they love you no matter what. Because ultimately, only being yourself will make you happy.

We’d like to take this opportunity to thank Florian for his help with this project and for his frank honesty.

If you’d like to keep up to date with Florian, follow him on Instagram @fkfbrln

Leave a Reply

