Sloppy Joseph

Well aren’t you all lucky buggers, two top artist interviews in two days…we do treat you well!

IMG_4666

So today we are really excited to introduce to you Sloppy Joseph! His work is relatively simple but has a real element of thought behind it. Often depicting everyday elements but with a sense of almost hopelessness to them, in fact quite often depicting the same male and his cat. Additionally, his use of dusty pinks and greens only aids to tone of his work.

We managed to catch up with Sloppy Joe for a quick chat…

So Joe, tell us a bit about you growing up, was art always such a such a big factor in your life?

Growing up, art was something that I’ve always enjoyed. Drawing in particular, was a huge part of my childhood.

IMG_4662

So when did you decide to make a career out of it?
I’m actually still not quite a professional artist yet but one day I hope to be! I’m studying Fine Arts at the University of Cincinnati at the moment and working at a restaurant part-time.

So, where do you get your initial ideas and inspiration from? Are you influenced by anything or anyone in particular?

My initial inspiration typically comes just from sitting and thinking listening to rap music. Most of my ideas are rather sporadic if I’m being honest.

IMG_4665

How do you get from your beginning idea to your final result?

Typically I get to my end result by drawing my illustration in pencil first, then inking it with a sharpie. I then either scan or photograph the drawing and bring it into photoshop where I can edit and add color. It’s a bit more of a design oriented process.

What’re you currently working on that excites you?

Right now the thing that I’m working on that excites me the most is getting some clothing printed! I’ve always wanted to be able to produce t shirts as a way to market my art and I’m excited to get that up and going soon.

IMG_4661

Ah cool, we look forward to seeing/wearing them. Finally, what does the future hold for you and your art?

I’m not really sure what the future will hold for me and my art, but right now I’m trying to take things one day at a time.

IMG_4662

We just like to take this time to say thanks to Sloppy Joseph a great guy and an amazing artist. Take a look at more of his work by giving him a follow on Instagram @sloppy_joseph_ you won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

